How to get your toddler out of tight and sticky situations!

I think the heading pretty much sums it up.

This week my 11 month old little boy thought it would a great idea to stick his little thumb into a very small little space.

Sound familiar? I’m sure he thought that this was a very clever way to keep his toy with him at all times, until he realised that it wasn’t coming off!

20150709_144331[1]

I ended up panicking, how was I going to remove this toy without hurting him further, the stupid toy was already stopping his circulation and the thought of him screaming any louder horrified me.

After his father bravely faced the screaming and kicking he quickly removed the toy.

This ended up in both mom and baby traumatised. At least his thumb was intact and there was no damage.

After this terrible ordeal I decided to compile a list of How to get your toddler out of a tight and sticky situations. I wish I had this list sooner. I hope it can help many other mommy’s out there too.

How to:

  1. remove baby’s finger/s from a tight situation, use ice to reduce swelling and as a numbing agent and try using lots of baby oil. If the object does not come loose call your nearest doctor/nurse to assist especially if swelling does not go down or there is a risk of injuring baby if trying to remove the object yourself.
  2. remove chewing gum from baby’s hair or fabric by using an ice block, wish I had known this one when I was in primary school and ended up with a new haircut because of a younger sibling.
  3. remove wax crayon or ink drawings on your walls with sugar soap powder
  4. remove glitter from the floor with a lint roller
  5. prevent hot seat belts when the car seat is left in the sun by keeping a spray bottle filled with water in the car.
  6. remove splinters with a bicarbonate of soda and water paste, it will push the splinter out
  7. remove sticky plaster residue with baby oil

Mommies if you have any stories to share and more solutions please share in the comment section!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Heather says:

    oh my gosh that must have been awful!

    1. I was was in complete panic mode. Toddlers know how to scare their mommies! lol

Leave a comment